Wrecking Ball 19 Presents: #ELXN42 – A Rich Gala

Presenting the 3rd National Wrecking Ball…
ELXN42: a rich gala

Presented in association with The Theatre Centre


MONDAY September 28th, 2015

The Theatre Centre | 1115 Queen St W, Toronto

Box Office opens at 7:00pm | Show starts at 8:00pm

Pay what you can. No advanced sales.

(Proceeds from this event will go to the Actors’ Fund of Canada)

#WB19 #WBNational #ELXN42

Featuring work by:

Kawa Ada, Kanika Ambrose, David Ferry, Adam Paolozza, Polly Phokeev, Nadia Ross, Gein Wong

Political theatre direct from the zeitgeist to the stage.

In the wake of the federal election, Wrecking Ball crews have assembled across the country to respond to the most important Canadian political event of 2015. On the occasion of the previous two federal elections The Wrecking Ball went National; with ‘Wrecking Balls’ hosted by theatre artists in most major cities across the country. In both 2008 and 2011 these pan-Canadian dramatic responses to our politics garnered widespread national media attention. The Wrecking Ball is no longer a Toronto phenomenon, but an autonomous theatrical movement joined by a desire to explore current political questions, issues, desires and dreams upon the stage. This year, “rich” artists in Toronto, Edmonton, Winnipeg, and Ottawa will gather on September 28th in what one can vaguely describe as “galas” to whine about grants and… well, the prime minister.

In addition, each venue will showcase wrecking ball scripts from other cities creating network of “national scripts” which are to be announced.

Since 2014, under a new generation of leadership, the Wrecking Ball has shifted its focus, presenting new work by not only esteemed playwrights from across the country, but also by performance artists of all kinds.

Founded by director Ross Manson and playwright Jason Sherman in 2004, The Wrecking Ball has been the premiere event in Canada for showcasing immediate and political work for over a decade. It is the birthplace of new plays by Hannah Moscovitch, Michael Healey, Roland Schimmelpfennig, Erin Shields, Judith Thompson, Colleen Wagner, David Yee, Bea Pizano, Tara Beagan, Nicolas Billon, Donna-Michelle St Bernard, Jordan Tannahill, and Sky Gilbert to name a few – there is no other event like it challenging theatre artists to respond to and address the vox populi.

*Optional Dress Code: black tie/evening wear… or you know, whatever rich people wear to galas.